Contact      Print      Text Size     
Please enter your login details

Email Address: Password:

Professional Development News 

Check out the dates below!

DESMOND Training


As a centre for award winning training, the DESMOND Programme now has a number of training days available, including our DESMOND 1-day Core training which looks at the philosophy, theories and behaviours that underpin all of our modules. This training is the first step in all Educator training and is also available for anyone looking to find out more about the DESMOND Programme and what makes it stand apart from other diabetes education programmes or for those looking to develop their own education programme or just for general interest.

 

Those looking to become Educators in any of our modules will then need to attend 1-day module-specific training where they will be issued with a curriculum to be able to deliver patient courses.

 

Those Lay persons and non-registered HCPs wishing to become Educators in any of our modules will need to first read our article on 'Becoming a Lay Educator'. Once in a position to, will then need to register their interest by completing the relevant form below and by attending the 'Preparing to be a Lay (non-HCP) Educator' 1-day training, before attending both Core and the relevant module-specific training as per HCP Educators. (For more information on this please contact desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk)

 

DESMOND BME (South Asian) Module

 

 

If you are a site interested in training Educators to deliver the DESMOND Newly Diagnosed & Foundation module curriculums in Punjabi, Gujarat, Urdu or Bengali then this is the course for you, please note Educators must already have already attended the DESMOND Core training as well as the DESMOND Newly Diagnosed & Foundation module training day. Please contact the National DESMOND Office directly for dates.

 

 

Bespoke Training Courses

 

We also support bespoke courses for health organisations who wish to train 10 or more Educators in any of our modules. These will be arranged locally with the person who commissions this service. This is ideal when a new site takes up the opportunity to host the DESMOND Programme, and wishes to have a cohort of Educators trained to help establish one or more DESMOND modules across their organisation. 

 

 

Please see below for dates of available training courses and please ensure that applicants meet the relevant criteria. 

 

Training Dates

 

2015 Training Dates

 

Lay Educator Training

  • Thurs 12th November 2015 - Birmingham

 

 

Core Training

  • Thurs 10th Sept 2015 - Preston
  • Thurs 24th Sept 2015 - London
  • Mon 28th Sept 2015 - Belfast (Fully booked)
  • Wed 7th Oct 2015 - Birmingham (Fully booked)
  • Thurs 22nd Oct 2015 - London
  • Thurs 3rd Dec 2015 - London

 

 

Newly Diagnosed & Foundation Module Training

  • Fri 11th Sept 2015 - Preston
  • Tues 29th Sept 2015 - Belfast (Fully booked)
  • Thurs 8th Oct 2015 - Birmingham (Fully booked)
  • Fri 4th Dec 2015 - London

 

 

Walking Away from Diabetes Module Training

  • Fri 25th Sept 2015 - London

 

 

Going Forward with Diabetes Module Training

  • Day 1 - 4th June 2015 - London   & Day 2 - 10th December 2015 - London

 

 

Injectable Therapies Workshop - (Please contact National Office for details)

  •  Wed 7th Oct 2015 - Leicester

 

 

Let's Prevent Training

  • Fri 23rd October 2015 - London

 

 

2016 Training Dates

 

Lay Educator Training

  • Fri 17th June 2016 - Birmingham

 

 

Core Training

  • Thurs 14th January 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 20th January 2016 - London
  • Thurs 11th February 2016 - London
  • Wed 24th February 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 9th March 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 10th March 2016 - London
  • Wed 20th April 2016 - London
  • Wed 11th May 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 18th May 2016 - London
  • Wed 8th June 2016 - London
  • Wed 15th June 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 6th July 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 14th July 2016 - London
  • Thurs 18th August 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 14th September 2016 - Dublin
  • Thurs 29th September 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 12th October 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 16th November 2016 - London
  • Thurs 24th November 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 30th November 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 8th December 2016 - London

 

 

Newly Diagnosed & Foundation Module Training

  • Fri 15th January 2016 - Birmingham
  • Fri 12th February 2016 - London
  • Thurs 10 March 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 21st April 2016 - London
  • Thurs 12th May 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 9th June 2016 - London
  • Thurs 7th July 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 15th September 2016 - Dublin
  • Thurs 13th October 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 17th November 2016 - London
  • Thurs 1st December 2016 - Birmingham

 

 

Walking Away from Diabetes Module Training

  • Thurs 25th February 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 19th May 2016 - London
  • Fri 19th August - Birmingham
  • Fri 9th December 2016 - London

 

 

Going Forward with Diabetes Module Training

  • Day 1 - Wed 27th April 2016 - London   & Day 2 - Wed 26th October 2016 - London

 

 

Let's Prevent Training

  • Thurs 21st January 2016 - London
  • Fri 11th March 2016 - London
  • Thurs 16th June 2016 - Birmingham
  • Fri 15th July 2016 - London
  • Fri 30th September 2016 - Birmingham
  • Fri 25th November 2016 - Birmingham

 

 

BME Module Training

Dates TBC, please contact desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk to register your interest

 

However, please note that for DESMOND training to be successful, we require a minimum number of delegates. Occasionally, despite our best efforts, we are not able to achieve this, and the DESMOND Collaborative reserve the right to cancel training in such circumstances.

 

Reserving a Place

Reservations can be held for sites who know they will be interviewing in the near future and the post-holder will require DESMOND training. The place can be reserved for a maximum period of 2 weeks, during which time a completed application form (with the Attendees name omitted) is required.

 

Places can be reserved for delegates for a period of 2 weeks only. If an application form is not received during that time, then the DESMOND Collaborative reserve the right to cancel the reserved place. 

 

Download our booking form below for more details. For more information about training please contact desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk or by telephone on 0116 2585881.  For costs please contact DESMOND National Office on 0116 2585677.


Documents

DESMOND Going Forward with Diabetes Application form (2015)

Please complete this form if you are a registered HCP and wish to train with us.

Download Document

Training Application Form for registered Healthcare Professionals 2015

Please complete this form if you are a registered HCP and wish to train with us.

Download Document

Training application form for Lay and non-registered Healthcare Professionals 2015

Please complete this form if you are a Lay person or a non-registered HCP and wish to train with us.

Download Document
Copyright © The DESMOND Collaborative 2008. All rights reserved.