Contact      Print      Text Size     
Please enter your login details

Email Address: Password:

Professional Development News 

Check out the dates below!

DESMOND Training

As a centre for award winning training, the DESMOND Programme now has a number of training days available, including our DESMOND 1-day Core training which looks at the philosophy, theories and behaviours that underpin all of our modules. This training is the first step in all Educator training and is also available for anyone looking to find out more about the DESMOND Programme and what makes it stand apart from other diabetes education programmes or for those looking to develop their own education programme or just for general interest.

DESMOND Cultural Adaptation Day Form 

Those looking to become Educators in any of our modules will then need to attend 1-day module-specific training where they will be issued with a curriculum to be able to deliver patient courses.


Those Lay persons and non-registered HCPs wishing to become Educators in any of our modules will need to first read our article on 'Becoming a Lay Educator'. Once in a position to, will then need to register their interest by completing the relevant form below and by attending the 'Preparing to be a Lay (non-HCP) Educator' 1-day training, before attending both Core and the relevant module-specific training as per HCP Educators. (For more information on this please contact


2015 Training Dates


Lay Educator Training- (Please see dates for next year)



Core Training

  • Thurs 3rd Dec 2015 - London (Fully booked)



Newly Diagnosed & Foundation Module Training

  • Fri 4th Dec 2015 - London (Fully booked)



Walking Away from Diabetes Module Training - (Please see dates for next year)



Going Forward with Diabetes Module Training - (Please see dates for next year)



Injectable Therapies Workshop - (Please contact the National Office for more information)



Cultural Adaptation Day

  •  Tues 15th Dec 2015 - Leicester



2016 Training Dates


Lay Educator Training

  • Fri 17th June 2016 - Birmingham



Core Training

  • Thurs 14th January 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 20th January 2016 - Leicester
  • Thurs 11th February 2016 - London
  • Wed 17th February 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 9th March 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 10th March 2016 - London
  • Wed 20th April 2016 - London
  • Wed 11th May 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 18th May 2016 - London
  • Wed 8th June 2016 - London
  • Wed 15th June 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 6th July 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 14th July 2016 - London
  • Thurs 18th August 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 14th September 2016 - Dublin
  • Thurs 29th September 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 12th October 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 16th November 2016 - London
  • Thurs 24th November 2016 - Birmingham
  • Wed 30th November 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 8th December 2016 - London



Newly Diagnosed & Foundation Module Training

  • Fri 15th January 2016 - Birmingham
  • Fri 12th February 2016 - London
  • Thurs 10 March 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 21st April 2016 - London
  • Thurs 12th May 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 9th June 2016 - London
  • Thurs 7th July 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 15th September 2016 - Dublin
  • Thurs 13th October 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 17th November 2016 - London
  • Thurs 1st December 2016 - Birmingham



Walking Away from Diabetes Module Training

  • Thurs 18th February 2016 - Birmingham
  • Thurs 19th May 2016 - London
  • Fri 19th August - Birmingham
  • Fri 9th December 2016 - London



Going Forward with Diabetes Module Training

  • Day 1 - Wed 27th April 2016 - London   & Day 2 - Wed 26th October 2016 - London



Let's Prevent Training

  • Thurs 21st & Fri 22nd January 2016 - Leicester
  • Fri 11th March 2016 - London
  • Thurs 16th June 2016 - Birmingham
  • Fri 15th July 2016 - London
  • Fri 30th September 2016 - Birmingham
  • Fri 25th November 2016 - Birmingham



Cultural Adaptation Day

  • Tues 26th April 2016 - Leicester
  • Thurs 10th November 2016 - Leicester



However, please note that for DESMOND training to be successful, we require a minimum number of delegates. Occasionally, despite our best efforts, we are not able to achieve this, and the DESMOND Collaborative reserve the right to cancel training in such circumstances.



DESMOND Cultural Adaptation Day


For sites that wish to provide a culturally appropriate course for their local population we now provide a DESMOND Cultural Adaptation Day, more information can be found by clicking here. In short this is a one-day workshop that explores the 9-Step model for adaptation that the DESMOND Collaborative have developed, covering:

  • An opportunity to review the DESMOND model for Cultural Adaptation
  • How to work with interpreters and maintaining the Philosophy
  • Good working practice for embedding your culturally relevant DESMOND including identifying organisational and promotional resources


This is available to any DESMOND site and can be attended by anyone that will be key to the management of the adaptation such as Project Lead, Community Workers and DESMOND Educators.  

Please note this workshop does not train Educators to deliver



Bespoke Training Courses


We also support bespoke courses for health organisations who wish to train 10 or more Educators in any of our modules. These will be arranged locally with the person who commissions this service. This is ideal when a new site takes up the opportunity to host the DESMOND Programme, and wishes to have a cohort of Educators trained to help establish one or more DESMOND modules across their organisation. 



Reserving a Place

Reservations can be held for sites who know they will be interviewing in the near future and the post-holder will require DESMOND training. The place can be reserved for a maximum period of 2 weeks, during which time a completed application form (with the Attendees name omitted) is required.


Places can be reserved for delegates for a period of 2 weeks only. If an application form is not received during that time, then the DESMOND Collaborative reserve the right to cancel the reserved place. 


Download our booking form below for more details. For more information about training please contact or by telephone on 0116 2585881.  For costs please contact DESMOND National Office on 0116 2585677.


DESMOND Cultural Adaptation Day Form

Please complete this form if you are interested in our cultural adaptation for your DESMOND delivering site.

Download Document

DESMOND Going Forward with Diabetes Application form (2015)

Please complete this form if you are a registered HCP and wish to train with us.

Download Document

Training Application Form for registered Healthcare Professionals 2015

Please complete this form if you are a registered HCP and wish to train with us.

Download Document

Training application form for Lay and non-registered Healthcare Professionals 2015

Please complete this form if you are a Lay person or a non-registered HCP and wish to train with us.

Download Document
Copyright © The DESMOND Collaborative 2008. All rights reserved.