Lowers HbA1c
by one per cent
Comprehensive
Evidence base
For the NHS
by the NHS

DESMOND training dates

OVERVIEW

As a centre for award-winning training, the DESMOND Programme now has a number of training days and options available:

DESMOND Core training, a 1-day course which looks at the philosophy, theories and behaviours that underpin all of our modules. This training is the first step in Educator training, and is also available for anyone looking to find out more about the DESMOND Programme and what makes it stand apart from other diabetes education programmes. Please scroll to the bottom of the page for our application form.

Module-Specific training, a 1-day course which introduces each Educator to the curriculum and resources they will need to deliver their chosen module to patients (see below for dates                 and modules available below). Please scroll to the bottom of the page for our application form.

Lay Educator support – If you/your team member are lay personnel or non-registered Healthcare Professional (HCP), we offer additional support prior to attending the above two             training days for the Newly Diagnosed and Foundation (NDF) module. In Spring 2019 we will be launching our NDF Lay Educator eLearning module, until then we are offering a mix of a paper-based workbook and login for our patient-facing online programme. Please scroll to the bottom of the page for our application form.

2019 training dates

Core training

  • Wed 13th November – London
  • Wed 11th December – Birmingham

Newly diagnosed and Foundation (NDF) module training

  • Thurs 14th November – London
  • Thurs 12th December – Birmingham

2020 training dates

Core training

  • Tues 21st January – London
  • Wed 19th February – Birmingham
  • Wed 11th March – London
  • Wed 15th April – Birmingham
  • Wed 20th May – London
  • Wed 10th June – Birmingham
  • Wed 8th July – Dublin
  • Thurs 20th August – London
  • Wed 23rd September – Birmingham
  • Thurs 22nd October – London
  • Tues 17th November – Birmingham
  • Wed 9th December – London

Newly diagnosed and Foundation (NDF) module training

  • Wed 22nd January – London
  • Thurs 20th February – Birmingham
  • Thurs 12th March – London
  • Thurs 16th April – Birmingham
  • Thurs 21st May – London
  • Thurs 11th June – Birmingham
  • Thurs 9th July – Dublin
  • Fri 21st August – London
  • Thurs 24th September – Birmingham
  • Fri 23rd October – London
  • Wed 18th November – Birmingham
  • Thurs 10th December -London

Walking Away from Diabetes and Let’s Prevent Diabetes module training events

Please contact DESMOND National Office for further information

DESMOND Cultural Adaptation

If you are interested in providing culturally adapted programmes in your area, please click here for more information.

Bespoke training courses

For health organisations who wish to train 10 or more Educators in any of our modules, we are happy to discuss the opportunity to deliver a bespoke training event in your area.

Reserving a place

Training places can be reserved for a maximum period of 2 weeks, during which time a completed application form and accompanying Purchase Order is required – a name can be omitted if you are still recruiting to a post. If an application form is not received during that time, then the DESMOND Collaborative reserve the right to cancel the reserved place.

 

Download our booking form below for more details. For more information about training please contact desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk or by telephone on 0116 2585881.


Documents

Training application form for Lay and non-registered Healthcare Professionals

Please complete this form if you are a Lay person or a non-registered HCP and wish to train with us. Please return to desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk
DESMOND Training Application Form 2019 – non HCP Educator

Training Application Form for Registered Healthcare Professionals

Please complete this form if you are a registered HCP and wish to train with us. Please return to desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk
DESMOND Training Application Form 2019 – HCP Educator