Lowers HbA1c
by one per cent
Comprehensive
Evidence base
For the NHS
by the NHS
Educator accounts

DESMOND training dates

DESMOND Training

As a centre for award winning training, the DESMOND Programme now has a number of training days available, including our DESMOND 1-day Core training which looks at the philosophy, theories and behaviours that underpin all of our modules. This training is the first step in Educator training for registered HCPs and is also available for anyone looking to find out more about the DESMOND Programme and what makes it stand apart from other diabetes education programmes or for those looking to develop their own education programme or just for general interest.

DESMOND Cultural Adaptation Day Form Please complete this form if you are interested in our cultural adaptation for your DESMOND delivering site.

Those registered HCPs wishing to become Educators in any of our modules will then need to attend 1-day module-specific training where they will be issued with a curriculum to be able to deliver patient courses.

Those Lay persons and non-registered HCPs wishing to become Educators in any of our modules will need to first read our article on ‘Becoming a Lay Educator’. Once in a position to, will then need to register their interest by completing the relevant form below and by attending the ‘Preparing to be a Lay (non-HCP) Educator’ 1-day training, before attending both Core and the relevant module-specific training as per HCP Educators. For more information on this please contact desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk.

2018 training dates

Core training
  • Wed 18th July – Birmingham
  • Thurs 2nd August – Birmingham
  • Thurs 20th September – London
  • Thurs 27th September – Birmingham
  • Tues 9th October – Newcastle
  • Wed 14th November – Birmingham
  • Thurs 13th December – London
Newly diagnosed and Foundation module training
  • Thurs 19th July – Birmingham
  • Fri 3rd August – Birmingham
  • Fri 21st September – London
  • Fri 28th September – Birmingham
  • Wed 10th October – Newcastle
  • Thurs 15th November – Birmingham
  • Fri 14th December – London

2019 training dates

Core training
  • Wed 16th January – Dublin
  • Wed 20th February – London
  • Thurs 14th March – Birmingham
  • Tues 16th April – Birmingham
  • Thurs 16th May – London
  • Wed 19th June – Birmingham
  • Thurs 11th July – London
  • Wed 21st August – Birmingham
  • Wed 18th September – London
  • Wed 23rd October – Birmingham
  • Wed 13th November – London
  • Wed 11th December – Birmingham
Newly diagnosed and Foundation module training
  • Thurs 17th January – Dublin
  • Thurs 21st February – London
  • Fri 15th March – Birmingham
  • Wed 17th April – Birmingham
  • Fri 17th May – London
  • Thurs 20th June – Birmingham
  • Fri 12th July – London
  • Thurs 22nd August – Birmingham
  • Thurs 19th September – London
  • Thurs 24th October – Birmingham
  • Thurs 14th November – London
  • Thurs 12th December – Birmingham
Walking Away from Diabetes module training

Contact DESMOND National Office

Lay Educator training

Contact DESMOND National Office

DESMOND Cultural Adaptation Day

For sites that wish to provide a culturally appropriate course for their local population we now provide a DESMOND Cultural Adaptation Day, more information can be found by clicking here. In short this is a one-day workshop that explores the 9-Step model for adaptation that the DESMOND Collaborative have developed, covering:

  • An opportunity to review the DESMOND model for Cultural Adaptation
  • How to work with interpreters and maintaining the Philosophy
  • Good working practice for embedding your culturally relevant DESMOND including identifying organisational and promotional resources

This is available to any DESMOND site and can be attended by anyone that will be key to the management of the adaptation such as Project Lead, Community Workers and DESMOND Educators.

Please note this workshop does not train Educators to deliver

Bespoke training courses

We also support bespoke courses for health organisations who wish to train 10 or more Educators in any of our modules. These will be arranged locally with the person who commissions this service. This is ideal when a new site takes up the opportunity to host the DESMOND Programme, and wishes to have a cohort of Educators trained to help establish one or more DESMOND modules across their organisation.

Reserving a place

Reservations can be held for sites who know they will be interviewing in the near future and the post-holder will require DESMOND training. The place can be reserved for a maximum period of 2 weeks, during which time a completed application form (with the Attendees name omitted) is required.

Places can be reserved for delegates for a period of 2 weeks only. If an application form is not received during that time, then the DESMOND Collaborative reserve the right to cancel the reserved place.

Download our booking form below for more details. For more information about training please contact desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk or by telephone on 0116 2585881.  For costs please contact DESMOND National Office on 0116 2585677.


Documents

Training application form for Lay and non-registered Healthcare Professionals

Please complete this form if you are a Lay person or a non-registered HCP and wish to train with us. Please return to beverley.humphreys@uhl-tr.nhs.uk or by fax to 0116 2586165
Download document

DESMOND Cultural Adaptation Day Form

Please complete this form if you are interested in our cultural adaptation for your DESMOND delivering site
Download document

Training Application Form for Registered Healthcare Professionals

Please complete this form if you are a registered HCP and wish to train with us. Please return to desmondnationalprogramme@uhl-tr.nhs.uk
Download document